Backlash grows against judge for her comments to elderly, sick man

Hamtramck 31st District Court Judge Alexis Krot is being criticized for how she handled a blight case involving an elderly man.

 

By Charles Sercombe
The court of public opinion has reached a verdict on how Hamtramck 31st District Court Judge Alexis Krot handled a blight case.
And it is: You’re out of order, and disrespectful.
Her punishment might be to eventually get voted out of office, if some voters have a say in the matter.
Krot is facing increasing criticism for dressing down a 72-year-old resident, who was ticketed last August for weeds growing around his garage facing the alley but failed to remove them.
“Shameful,” Krot yelled, in a recording of a court hearing on Tuesday. “The neighbors shouldn’t have to look at that. You should be ashamed of yourself.”
What rubbed a number of residents and others the wrong way was that the man is not only elderly, but also has cancer of the lymph nodes.
Before Krot admonished Burham Chowdhury, he apologized, and said he’s been too weak to remove the weeds.
“I’m very sick, ma’am,” Chowdhury said, with much labored breathing.
Krot further said she would have thrown Chowdhury in jail if she could. She fined him $100.
The recording was the top story on WDIV Channel 4 news at 6 p.m. Tuesday.
The response was immediate.
“I’m quite stunned at her lack of professionalism and disgraceful comments. There’s no reason to speak to him that way,” said Linda Ward, on the Hamtramck Square Facebook page.
Fursan Zokari didn’t mince words either: “She is the worst judge in Hamtramck history! It seems like she hates everybody that lives in Hamtramck. She always talks to people with disrespectful ways. I myself have had a very bad experience with her.”
One viewer put it succinctly in describing Krot’s behavior, calling her “Judge Karen” – a reference to a generic name given to white women publicly yelling and shaming others, usually minorities.
At Tuesday’s city council meeting, Krot’s conduct was the topic of much discussion, although the city council is a separate government body and has no role in the district court’s business.
State Rep. Abraham Aiyash said that he will work with the Chowdhury family, and file a complaint with the state’s Judicial Tenure Commission.
He urged the city council to hold Krot “accountable,” and said she “embarrassed the court.”
“It’s not the first time,” Aiyash added.
Delwar Hussain Ansar, who describes himself as a community activist, called for Krot to resign.
“She doesn’t deserve to be a judge,” Ansar said.
Krot has not commented on the matter.
The incident has also been picked up by national media outlets, such as the Washington Post, which ran a story about it with the headline:
“Michigan Judge Alexis Krot shames cancer patient Burhan Chowdhury for not maintaining home, lawn”
Also posted on the Hamtramck Square Facebook page was a clip of Krot at a 2018 campaign rally at the Gates of Columbus Hall promising those in attendance that as a judge:
“You will get fair and impartial treatment. You will be treated with kindness and patience. You will get your chance to say every word you want to …”

Krot was first appointed to the bench in 2016 by then-Gov. Rick Snyder, after former Judge Paul Paruk resigned to take another job. Krot has since won re-election in 2020, and her current term expires in 2027.
The question now, as some city hall insiders speculated, is whether the ongoing criticism of her court demeanor will lead to her defeat when she faces re-election again.
Posted Jan. 14, 2022

60 Responses to Backlash grows against judge for her comments to elderly, sick man

  1. Ann

    January 14, 2022 at 7:07 pm

    It’s sad that his neighbors did not see that this man needed help. This is a prime example of how America has changed over the past 30 years. There is no compassion for others. The young do not look at their elderly neighbors and think of offering them help. They have never seen their parents extend a helping hand. They have never been taught neighborly kindness. It’s exactly an example of where America is at today.

  2. Phil Murray

    January 14, 2022 at 7:49 pm

    What goes around comes around. At some point in the future she will reap the rewards for her non-compassionate behavior. I hope sooner rather than later.

  3. Judy

    January 14, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    Clearly this sorry excuse of a judge has about as much compassion for an elderly gentleman who has cancer as trump has for the human race.
    Who raised this cruel monster?

  4. Lee

    January 14, 2022 at 8:12 pm

    Unbelievable that a judge could utter those words to anyone, especially a 72 cancer patient. Your mom and dad must be very proud of you! You had the power to help this man but instead chose to year him down. You need to look in the mirror and do some true reflection on who the hell you think you are!

  5. Russ Cox

    January 14, 2022 at 9:25 pm

    Sge needs to be fired. She’s an embarrassment to the justice system. Her past cases should be reviewed to see if she herself can be put in front of a judge. Her behavior us disgusting

  6. Linda Luckett

    January 14, 2022 at 9:27 pm

    I read about this on CNN then started reading about it from other sources. This judge is the one that should be ashamed and doesn’t belong in office. I was disgusted. She owes an apology. Surely she has some cases that are important or maybe she’s not qualified for anything important.

  7. Mark M. Koroi

    January 14, 2022 at 10:59 pm

    I had appeared before Hamtramck City Council during 2018 to criticize the fact that each City Council member endorsed Alexis Krot in the November 6, 2018 election. It is ironic how now Hamtramck City Council members are publicly criticizing her on-the-bench behavior. This would include the newly-elected Adam Albarmaki.

    Krot did defeat John Fitzgerald Gorniak by a 79%-20% margin in that general election. Krot had no opponent in the 2020 election.

    Krot had outraised Gorniak by an excess of 10-1 ratio for campaign funding for that election. She raised about $50,000 and Gorniak about $4,300. A large percentage of that funding for her campaign came via non-Hamtramck residents. This would include $1,000.00 donated by Hamtramck City Attorney James P. Allen, Sr. – who resides in Oakland County.

    I actually found it surprising – but not unprecedented – that State Representative Abraham Aiyash had indicated that he was complaining to the Judicial Tenure Commission regarding Krot’s behavior. Livingston County Judge Theresa Brennan had been subject to a town hall meeting organized by then-Rep. Joe Hune due to her controversial conduct. Brennan was later removed from the District Court bench.

    When I attended a City Council meeting in 2018 which John F. Gorniak also attended, an elderly Bangladeshi-American woman in a wheelchair complained to City Council about an apparent code violation issue involving a home and that she felt she was treated harshly by Krot in her courtroom.

    MCR 9.205(c) is a subsection of the Michigan Rules of Court that defines “misconduct in office” as “persistent failure to treat persons fairly and courteously.”

    It will be interesting how the Judicial Tenure Commission will view the complaint that Rep. Aiyash has alluded to regarding Krot.

  8. L Graves

    January 15, 2022 at 12:03 am

    This intemperate person should be censured by the State Judicial Tenure Commission.
    I wonder if she treated the sick old man so cruelly because he is not white?
    And what political hack work did she do to get appointed to start with?

  9. Myrna Green

    January 15, 2022 at 12:12 am

    Could not believe how she talked down to this family
    What goes around comes around

    She needs to leave the courtroom

  10. Lynn

    January 15, 2022 at 12:13 am

    The lack of empathy the judge showed to the elderly gentleman was appalling. It’s horrible that she could be so callous to someone so ill.

  11. Lee

    January 15, 2022 at 1:18 am

    This video has made an impression all over the country; what a horrible excuse for a judicial representative. Ensuring that Judge Krot’s days on the bench are numbered would be the best thing. No one deserves to be treated with such disrespect…truly embarrassing behavior.

  12. Grace Pataky

    January 15, 2022 at 3:56 am

    Judge Krot embodies all that is wrong with society. Mean, angry and unkind to a fellow human being. She was OUT OF LINE.

  13. Theresa Love Johnson

    January 15, 2022 at 5:51 am

    She needs to resign.

  14. Kirsten

    January 15, 2022 at 8:08 am

    She should be so disgusted with herself. What a horrid woman, and to wield the power she does with wanton disregard to circumstances. Disgraceful, she doesn’t deserve to be a judge.

  15. Noel

    January 15, 2022 at 8:33 am

    Absolutely disgraceful. She should be removed from the bench immediately.

  16. Ron fringle

    January 15, 2022 at 8:37 am

    I wonder if she would have been nicer to white english speaking Americans . Her level of abuse above and beyond her simple discussion on this case smacks of racism

  17. Karen Drennen

    January 15, 2022 at 9:20 am

    She should be reprimanded at the very least-
    SHE is the one who is SHAMEFUL
    Hateful and out of touch. So sad this man and his son were on the receiving end of her blathering. Would not want her responsible for judging ANYTHING. Find a new profession

  18. Joy Lyn Mosley

    January 15, 2022 at 9:30 am

    She came across cold and heartless. I hope she feels the same shame she placed upon this family. How dare she.

  19. William Grubb

    January 15, 2022 at 9:32 am

    Krot is clearly unworthy of holding ANY place of honor. The ABA needs to judge her behavior and disbar her. If she pays people to maintain her property I suggest they quit.

    The defendant was humble and compliant. Who will find favor in Gods eyes?

  20. Alice Wikel

    January 15, 2022 at 9:47 am

    Shame on her..what a disgusting human being..vote her out.

  21. Amish Shah

    January 15, 2022 at 10:16 am

    I’m a cancer doctor and would be very upset if this is how a judge would treat one of my patients. Cancer and it’s treatments can oftentimes make my patients profoundly weak, and routine daily living or exercise (or cleaning lawns) becomes very very difficult for them. I am ashamed at how this judge is treating a cancer patient. Judges in my experience are usually incredibly fair, sympathetic, and empathetic, busy, and professional. They are usually the best our legal profession has to offer. This experience did not feel that way and I am not impressed by her tone or lack of professionalism or lack of empathy. I hope she can do better.

  22. Rebecca affolter

    January 15, 2022 at 10:23 am

    First of all…RN of 28 years…been working covid ICU for past 2 years…
    JUDGE KROT
    THIS…has to be one of the most insensitive replies..and comments…to man…who is obviously sick…COULD YOU NOT HEAR HIM TRYING TO BREATHE…when he talked to you? WTH IS WRONG WITH YOU…if this is how you treat people…I feel sorry for your family..and ANYONE IN YOUR COURT….you should NOT BE A JUDGE…for God’s sake woman..JUDGE….THIS….THIS…is something you have an issue with? Frickin weeds…a obviously SICK ELDERLY MAN…can’t keep up with? How about the rampant covid you have in your state…or your militia? You berate this sick man with NO COMPASSION WHATSOEVER….GOD HELP the people that have to come to your court…hoeabout all of the METH in your state…and no jobs….
    How you came across in this video….you seem like the most insensitive person in michigan…Michigan… you don’t have kids…and if you do…I feel for them….as I am sure they are now hearing about what an insensitive nit picking human being you are….
    As a health care worker…working covid icu for the past 2 years…to hear someone like you .. talk to an OBVIOUSLY SICK CANCER PT LIKE THAT…Pray hope you remain cancer free …as also your family for the remainder of your years…because I would be embarrassed to have you as a mother…sister….aunt…
    whatever…Karma would be you developing cancer…and live g thru treatments..and trying to stay alive and BREATHE…while forgetting to get out the weed killer and maintain your yard..
    You are a disgrace to the oath you pledged to serve your community…and God help anyone going before you in court…because if you can’t walk a mile in this man’s shoes without having any empathy…I shudder to think what you are like as a mother …wife or whatever…

    YOU OWE THIS MAN…A PUBLIC APOLOGY….WHAT YOU DID WAS SHAMEFUL…and an embarrassment to the court and post you were elected for!!

  23. Barbara McNey

    January 15, 2022 at 10:37 am

    Judge Krot’s treatment if the man and bis son are completrly unacceptable. Her bio indicates she serves as board secretary and Trustree for the Academy of the Sacred Heart. If I were an alumni, parent of a current student or a member of staff for the school. I would start a petition to remove her from these positions. She is unfit as a judge and unfit in any role related to education.

  24. Cassie

    January 15, 2022 at 10:42 am

    Dear Krot, you do not get the respect to get addressed at the title you hold or as miss or mrs. As a nurse who takes care of sick, injured, and elderly individuals you disgust me. I am 42 and single and can barely maintain my yard so how dare you down a elderly man especially one who is telling you that he is sick and that can barely get words out. And then to continue to yell at him as if he was one of your hired help. A few years ago one of your colleagues made a comment about us nurses saying that all we do is play cards on the clock and I said well I hope for her sake that she won’t get sick or seriously injured because regardless is nurses will still take of her but I hope she has fear every second that we won’t and I be damn a pandemic hit. So for ur sake I hope that you don’t ever get cancer. But if so I hope ur entire family leaves u high and dry and a judge charges u out the ass in fines for you not maintaining your yard. How dare you. Not the elderly a man who is sick. How dare you. And apparently your mom for not raising you correctly and respecting the elderly and the sick. God have mercy on your soul!

  25. Enter Cher Park

    January 15, 2022 at 10:43 am

    I would think this judge should be recalled. It’s highly offensive to have her berate anyone in such a manner, I wouldn’t call this professional. I can’t recall a murderer or rapist being shamed in such a way, and this gentleman gets a full thrashing for a yard offense? It appears she is prejudiced, and incapable of being an impartial judge. This incident is surely not isolated, and if my assumption is correct, there will be evidence of her past versicts or sentencing being more harsh to people considered non white vs her sentencing of white people. If proven, she is a threat to a fair legal system and for the good of the people she should be removed. Judges are not expected to be perfect, but they should be held to a higher standard to ensure our legal system works as well as possible.

  26. Ed

    January 15, 2022 at 10:44 am

    Everyone here should email the court directly with their feelings. This is not right!

    info@31stdistrictcourt.net

    A judge lacking empathy and compassion is broken.

  27. V. Hall

    January 15, 2022 at 10:56 am

    What an evil woman. All her cases ought to be reviewed since she’s made it so clear that she has no intention of being either fair or impartial.

  28. Chris Pere

    January 15, 2022 at 11:09 am

    This “judge” needs to be judged for her appalling lack of compassion…maybe he was in violation if some city ordinance but that’s no reason to be mean and disrespectful like she was…she lacks the comprehension to understand that there were circumstances beyond his control (CANCER/AGE) that played a big part in why this poor guy couldn’t pull some weeds…instead of criticizing and fining him she should get off her lazy ass and go and help her fellow man and community member in pulling the damn weeds herself, imagine the how differently this story would have went if something like that was done instead her route she chose. SMH

  29. Melissa Lukeris

    January 15, 2022 at 11:13 am

    A person in power who abuses it, degrades others, uses their position to belittle and shame an elder who is I’ll during this awful time and ongoing pandemic where people have reduced support and resources- should not be representing a community and charging more than the cost of a week or two
    Of food- maybe whomever had time to write the citation or call the complaint has time to help this man. Give the judge community service gardening his property edge for the inexcusable behavior and then she can go find a new job.
    To the man and his son- if I lived there I’d help your yard and bring you soup and let you know people care. I’m sending my best to you and your family. Keep your chin up and maybe this bad thing will have a good outcome. Much health and protection to you.

  30. Rebecca Affolter

    January 15, 2022 at 11:20 am

    What is wrong with you? As a RN of 28 years…working covid ICU the last 2 …..you are an embarassment to the Court you serve…COULD YOU NOT HEAR THAT MAN TRYING TO BREATHE?

    I hope you don’t have children…because I would be embarrassed to have you as a mother …aunt..sister..etc…

    You are from Michigan … how about you place in jail your meth constituents that are moving to ND…and anywhere else to find a job…or your water quality…

    I pray none of your family ever ends up with cancer..

    Karma would be you getting cancer…and worrying about your lawn…WTH is wrong with you…???
    God help people coming to your court…you are an embarrassment to the people who elected you!

    You are NOT FIT…to serve as a judge and you should step down…

    AND YOU SHOULD PRAY you don’t end up with cancer….

    OR SOMEONE YOU LOVE…because if someone in your family close to you gets cancer….please stay away from them…because that would be the BEST THING for them….and pray for them for having you as a family member….AND MAY GOD HELP THEM…AT THEIR END OF LIFE

    With SO MUCH ELSE in your state to worry about…
    I can’t find the words to explain your total lack of empathy as a human being….

    I don’t know what christmas is like at your house…but I thank God… I wont ever have to find out…

    You OWE THIS MAN AN APOLOGY…!!!!!

    ANYTHING ELSE…and you should resign and go work at Walmart as a Walmart greeter…where all you open your mouth to say is “Welcome to walmart”…
    And you might not even be a good enough of a human being to deserve that job!

  31. Sara Snow

    January 15, 2022 at 12:15 pm

    This woman is a horrible human being with no soul and an even worse judge. She has let her ego and power go to her head. How dare she belittle and degrade an elderly man with cancer this way. SHE SHOULD BE RECALLED NOW

    https://ballotpedia.org/Laws_governing_recall_in_Michigan

  32. Gina Tyra

    January 15, 2022 at 12:25 pm

    Absolutely disgusting example of a judge. She should be removed! Disgusting example of a human! How do you treat someone like this?! Is it because he’s Asian/Indian? If he were middle class or rich and white she would tell him she understood and would write it off. What a horrible person!

  33. jodi d bock

    January 15, 2022 at 12:27 pm

    Judge kROT is despicable and needs to be removed from the bench! You can leave a public review of her here:

    https://nicelocal.com/michigan/public_services/honorable_alexis_g_krot/reviews/

    You can sign the petition here:

    https://www.change.org/p/remove-judge-alexis-krot

  34. Ayman Sahil

    January 15, 2022 at 1:20 pm

    This is disturbing. This violates humans rights. We want removal of Alexis right away.

    Can someone share me the petition signing link? I can’t find it!!

  35. Shannon Clifton

    January 15, 2022 at 1:37 pm

    The only one shameful in this case is this “judge”! She needs to be removed from her seat. She’s a complete embarrassment to the city, state, county and her profession. Remove her now!

  36. Mark M. Koroi

    January 15, 2022 at 1:47 pm

    Councilwoman Amanda Jaczkowski just posted a comment regarding the Krot incident on her Facebook page:

    “Most of us publicly declared this behavior inappropriate at the council meeting the same day it occurred. There is action being taken at the appropriate level of government to address it.”

  37. Aj Pratt

    January 15, 2022 at 3:50 pm

    This is honestly disrespectful to all cancer patients #krot needs to go

  38. Alan

    January 15, 2022 at 4:23 pm

    One thing that I haven’t seen a lot of in these comments is reference to her alleged Christian Values.

    Essentially, “What would Jesus do?”

    But I’m also a bit confused that people are all that surprised.

    She was appointed by Rick Snyder wasn’t she.

    Isn’t she simply expressing “Republican Compassion” for property values.

    And isn’t the organization that she is a boardmember of utilized primarily so that the children of rich white people don’t have to go to mix with “urban” public school children.

    Where is the public outrage, or even mild disapproval, of the establishment organizations of which she is a member / attendee / representative?

    Maybe when we have this “National Divorce” that the Republican establishment keeps referring to, we can trade the white Detroit suburbs to the South for Atlanta, and a gerrymandered Democratic pocket of Texas to be named later.

  39. Harrison Greeney

    January 15, 2022 at 4:25 pm

    I am in agreement with Judge Krot that this is shameful. It’s shameful that she spoke to this man like that. It’s shameful that she seemingly didn’t even listen to his explanation. I wonder if she’s that close minded with the rest of her cases. Lastly, it’s shameful that none of this gentleman’s neighbors reached out to help, instead choosing to report him to authorities. Sad state of affairs. Just shameful…

  40. jodi d bock

    January 15, 2022 at 4:33 pm

    https://www.gofundme.com/f/help-70yo-cancer-patient-who-was-fined-for-weed

    Show Mr.Chowdhury that we’re on his side and want to help!

  41. Bill

    January 15, 2022 at 4:46 pm

    What a despicable ogre.

  42. Nickie Wharawhara

    January 15, 2022 at 5:55 pm

    The petition against her is nearly at 120,000 signatures. Go to change.org to sign. Type in Chowdhury to go to the petition.
    She ought to be ashamed of herself!! What a disgrace! How dare she talk to a 71 year old cancer sufferer like that! Her lack of compassion or empathy! Disgusting!

  43. Virginia Harris

    January 15, 2022 at 6:18 pm

    I can imagine that she treats all comers into her court with the same ‘don’t care what your excuse is’ attitude.

    Why? Because collecting fines to support court and municipal operating expenses and filling up for-profit jail cells is what many municipalities demand of their judges.

    The heartless levying of fines on poor people for inevitable crimes of poverty — like a sick person letting weeds overgrow in an alley because they can’t afford a lawn service is a way of generating revenue to keep the system operating while keeping property and income taxes low – and that directly and disproportionately benefits higher income residents.

    This judge was certainly crueler in her comments than she should have been. Conduct completely unbecoming to an officer of our public court.

    But the system that relies on judges to collect massive amounts of revenue from nuisances fines levied on poor residents like this man, making them even poorer is the driver behind this ugly engine.

    City councils control local revenue management. Which City Council members in this town and thousands of other towns just like it are going to step forward and reform this cruel system?

    Remove the conflict of interest from the judges who must administer justice in the courts by separately funding court and municipal expenses through property and income taxes.

    End the unjust reliance on nuisance fines to keep the lights on.

    Perhaps then judges would not need to feign such outrage over minor issues in order to justify levying fines.

    No matter how kindly or unkindly Judge Krot spoke to this resident, the bottom line was that she collected a one hundred dollar fine from him because that’s how the system works.

    Perhaps a public review of all of the nuisance fines that are being collected and who they are being collected from in this town is in order, but I think we all know already.

    What’s needed is an open debate amongst the City Councils and residents on whether to continue on this system of unfair inequitable taxation of poor people.

    It can be changed. But only by elected officials. Remember in November!

  44. Mary

    January 15, 2022 at 8:37 pm

    This is the one case we saw, imagine how many other citizens were treated similarly, if not worse. It would be a powerful statement if somehow all the people she treated with disrespect in her courtroom came together and raised their voices. She has brought national attention to her district and put a stain on her court.

  45. Jude

    January 15, 2022 at 9:27 pm

    Unfair, arrogant and devoid of compassion in his case. She didn’t respect him enough to even listen to his plight. She is an embarrassment and poor representation of the American judicial system.

  46. Manya

    January 15, 2022 at 11:07 pm

    This judge needs to be censured and removed from the bench. I hope someone soon treats her with the same compassion and kindness she shows every day in court.

  47. KMB

    January 16, 2022 at 6:05 am

    Can she be recalled or do we have to wait until the next election?

  48. l. Morse

    January 16, 2022 at 12:50 pm

    Recall her NOW. This Judge has shown us exactly who she is and the time to act is upon us. In 35 years of practicing law, I never encountered such a lack of restraint and dignity from the bench, towards either attorneys or parties in the court room. Shame on you, Alexis Krot. You do not deserve to be called “your Honor.”

  49. Tricia Clark

    January 16, 2022 at 1:48 pm

    Ms. Krot needs to be removed immediately. As a cancer survivor, I know the exhaustion that comes with treatment and the disease itself. Clearly, Ms. Krot is unfit for the bench, and truthfully any job. Shrieking at people is not compatible with continued employment.

  50. Ricky Za

    January 16, 2022 at 3:29 pm

    If I was his neighbor, I would have personally paid a contractor on his behalf to do the work. NOthing personal but people these days sue for anything. So I would still be neighborly and offer to pay for the work. Still, this is not even the main issue. Believe me when I say the Bangladeshi community would have immediately have rallied together and helped this man if they had known. The real issue is how cruel the judge was. Instead of saying something along the lines of ” Although I sympthasize with your situations and I am sorry for your current health difficulty etc, unfortunately I still have to place a $100 judgement”… no she felt the urge to say he should be ashamed. The neighbors should be ashamed, the judge should be ashmed, the city should be ashamed. Disgusting human being. Her children should be ashamed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *